September Wrap Up

Well, here I am at the end of my first month of book blogging! I’d like to say a huge thank you to all my followers for joining me as I figure out how to do this blogging thing 🙂 I’m slowly working out what I want my blog to be like, so hopefully that will solidify a bit over the next couple of months. As it heads towards summer (southern hemisphere, remember), I want some good contemporary YA books to read, so if anyone has some suggestions, please let me know in the comments! Anyways, onward to the wrap up!


What I read this month:

After a bit of a reading slump on August, I got through quite a few books this month.

Number the StarsNumber the Stars by Lois Lowry

This was a really nice read. It’s only 100-something pages, so it only took me a couple days of sporadic reading to finish it. You can see my review of it here

Hyperbole and a Half by Allie BroshHyperbole and a Half

This was such a fun book to read. It consisted of many drawings, too, so it was really entertaining. If you haven’t read the book, you may at least be familiar with this image:

Clean ALL The Things

SpeakSpeak by Laurie Halse Anderson

For the most part, I enjoyed this book. I struggled a bit with all the vagueness in the first two-thirds of the book, but I loved the ending, when we finally found out what had happened to the narrator.

Poison by Lan ChanPoison

I absolutely adored this book (also, how gorgeous is that cover?!). I received a copy through NetGalley, and I am now a huge fan Lan Chan. I can’t wait till the next installment of the series!  You can check out my review of it here.

It's Kind of a Funny StoryIt’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

This is such a great, and important, book. I loved that it wasn’t a sad story about depression, but rather one of hope and the very real possibility of recovery.

Welcome to Shadowhunter Academy (Tales from Shadowhunter Academy #1)The Lost HerondaleTales from the Shadowhunter Academy #1 and #2 by Cassandra Clare

I only recently learned that this series of short stories was a thing. I haven’t gotten around to reading the other ones that are out, but I will at some point; I’m still a sucker for this universe.

The Journal of Curious Letters by James DashnerThe Journal of Curious Letters

This book didn’t really leave a mark on me. I liked it well enough, but the writing style was a little juvenile for me. You can find my review of it here.

The Light That Gets LostThe Light That Gets Lost by Natasha Carthew

It took me a little while to get into this book, but I did enjoy it in the end. I received a copy of it through NetGalley, and I’ll be posting a review of it on my blog closer to the release date.

Boy 23 by Jim CarringtonBoy 23

This was quite a unique dystopian/sci-fi novel. The use of language was quite interesting, but it was a really good story nonetheless. Like TLTGL, I received a copy of this book through NetGalley and will post a review closer to the publication date.

ChainedChained by Susanne Valenti

This was quite a good dystopian novel, with an original plot. There were some characters that I wasn’t too keen on, but for the most part, it’s a really good story. I received an eARC from the author. My review of it can be found here.

Out of all the books I read this month, Poison was definitely the highlight. I honestly cannot spread my love for it enough. If you are even the slightest fan of YA dystopia, I recommend you check it out. The cover in this post links to Goodreads, and it can be found on Amazon, too (it’s only a few dollars for the Kindle edition!).

What I did with my life this month:

At uni, I’ve been busy with the my last recording assignment. My friend and I did our third overnighter in the uni studios a couple of weeks ago and it was brutal (as usual). We ate a lot of junk food and had some good ol’ caffeine. Thankfully, we actually managed to get a bit of sleep on the (fairly uncomfortable) couches. And, of course, we did a whole lot of mixing. After a whole lot of craziness during my mixing session yesterday (white noise glitches, plug-ins being weird, and the like), I managed to hand in the recording today. PHEWW! I still have the logbook to go, and I should be working on it right now, but hey, I have two more days to get that in.
I also made my directorial debut for my post-production assignment. In groups, we had to shoot a short film, which was interesting because we’re a bunch of audio students, not film. But, nonetheless, it was a lot of fun, and we got a decent product out of it.
Also, I only have 10 weeks of my diploma left WHHAAAAAAATT?!?!

Life outside of uni has been pretty nonexistent, to say the least… We had a family get together for Father’s Day, and my cousin brought her dachshund puppy (her name is Darryl), and she kept stealing my dog’s bones and my dog didn’t no how to deal with this small sausage of a creature, and it was great fun for all involved. (And that was a ridiculous run-on sentence. I’m so sorry.) If you haven’t figured it out yet, I really love dogs 🙂


So there ya have it: my first month wrap up. If anyone wants to hear my recording assignment, let me know and I’ll chuck it up on SoundCloud and post a link.

A BIIIIGG thank you to everyone who has joined me so far on my blogging journey! I’ve felt very welcome in this book blog community, so thank you so much for that.
Also, I’d love to see all your wrap ups, so I want to see lots of links in the comments 🙂

7 thoughts on “September Wrap Up

  1. Regina Karis October 1, 2015 / 5:29 PM

    Congratulations on your first month of blogging! I’m new as well and it’s great to see other new people, haha.

    I haven’t even heard of Poison until you mentioned it but I looked at your review, and wow, Australia! It sounds awesome, I have got to check it out. 🙂

    Like

    • rachjessk October 1, 2015 / 6:49 PM

      Thank you!
      Poison is by an indie author, so that’s probably why you haven’t heard of it. I’d love to hear what you think of it, if you ever get around to reading it 🙂

      Like

  2. Giselle @ Hardwork Boulevard October 1, 2015 / 7:33 PM

    Welcome to the blogosphere Rachjessk! Wow. You’ve read tons of books this month. I wanted to read Number the stars too, any Lois lowry book actually, well, I didn’t know it was only a hundred pages long. Anyway, looking forward to reading more of your posts in the future and congrats in advance on your graduation! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • rachjessk October 1, 2015 / 7:38 PM

      Thank you! Number the Stars is really beautifully written, like all of Lois Lowry’s stuff is, so I definitely recommend it. Congrats on your 2-year blogiversary!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Giselle @ Hardwork Boulevard October 2, 2015 / 1:09 AM

        Thank you Rachjessk. I’ve read her The Giver Quartet and I love her writing style though I have yet to finish the entire series. Looking forward to reading her other books. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

