Review | Post Mortem by Kate London

Post MortemTitle: Post Mortem
Author: Kate London
Release Date:
September 1st, 2015
Publisher:
Corvus
Genre:
Adult Fiction, Crime, Mystery
Pages: 359
Rating:
4/5

She closed her eyes and saw, as if on a loop, a repeating backdrop of square windows, blue concrete spinning and passing, passing, passing. She could not escape the horror of it: unstoppably, irretrievably until the hard concrete reaches up.

A long-serving beat cop in the Met and a teenage girl fall to their deaths from a tower block in London’s East End. Left alive on the roof are a five year old boy and rookie police officer Lizzie Griffiths. Within hours, Lizzie Griffiths has disappeared, and DPS officer Sarah Collins sets out to uncover the truth around the grisly deaths, in an investigation which takes her into the dark heart of policing in London.


I don’t normally read this genre, but I must say, I really enjoyed it. I can definitely see myself reading some more crime novels in the future. This novel felt very realistic, and the description of many details was very intricate.

There weren’t really any characters that stood out to me, or that I really liked. However, I actually didn’t mind too much, as I was totally engrossed in the mystery of it all. I am normally quite an emotional reader, as in I like to feel some sort of feeling for the characters and the story itself. I didn’t get any of that with this book, which is a shame. The closest I got to that was with the character of Lizzie, as she was going through quite a lot throughout the story. I also felt pretty bad for Farah, as she was just a girl who had lost her way.

Like I said, I wasn’t too broken up about not feeling much emotion towards the characters, as the mystery aspect of the novel was really well written.  It wasn’t a “whodunnit” kind of scenario, rather a  “how did things get to this event” situation. The story flicked between the aftermath of accident and the weeks prior to it. I found this to be a very effective way of telling the story, rather than all the post-accident stuff happening, then the reader finding out what happened in an interview situation.

As the author was an officer with the Met, all the details in the book are incredibly accurate. Everything about this story felt very real, from how a crime scene is controlled, to the way the cops talked to each other.

For me, what brought this down to 4 stars was that I didn’t really like any of the characters. They all had something about the that bothered me. Basically none of the cops were very likeable, and the civilian characters were all pretty average in terms of likeability.

Overall, I thought this was actually a really good book, and I definitely enjoyed it more than I thought I would. I recommend it for anyone that watches any of those TV cop shows.

Buy it on Amazon
Buy it on Amazon
One thought on “Review | Post Mortem by Kate London

Leave a Reply

