Review | Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Throne of GlassTitle: Throne of Glass
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Release Date:
August 2nd, 2012
Publisher:
Bloomsbury
Genre:
YA, High Fantasy
Pages: 404
Rating:
5/5

Meet Celaena Sardothien.
Beautiful. Deadly.
Destined for greatness.

In the dark, filthy salt mines of Endovier, an eighteen-year-old girl is serving a life sentence. She is a trained assassin, the best of her kind, but she made a fatal mistake: she got caught.

Young Captain Westfall offers her a deal: her freedom in return for one huge sacrifice. Celaena must represent the prince in a to-the-death tournament—fighting the most gifted thieves and assassins in the land. Live or die, Celaena will be free. Win or lose, she is about to discover her true destiny. But will her assassin’s heart be melted?


It’s been awhile since I’ve read this kind of story, and I’ve definitely missed it. This is a great high fantasy book, packed with heaps of action, a bit of romance, and a whole lot of sass.

I loved so many characters in this book! Celaena was an incredible lead character, though I thought she should have been a little tougher, particularly at the start, seeing as she’s an assassin and all. Regardless, I thought her development throughout the book was great, and I really grew to love her.

I loved Celaena’s relationships with Dorian and Chaol. Both characters were very different and complex, and unique in the way they interacted with the assassin. It’s hard to choose who I think Celaena should be with, because they’re both so lovable! Both of the relationships developed in really natural ways, so it made for a good read.

I couldn’t really find any major faults with this story, to be honest. I’m sure there are some, but I was so caught up in the exciting story, that I didn’t really care. I had read a review where someone was sick of reading about how pretty Celaena was, but I didn’t really feel like it was that in-your-face.

I’m glad I caved into the hype surrounding this book, because I really did enjoy it. If you’re one of the (seemingly) few people who haven’t yet read this book, I’d definitely recommend it. If you like any type of YA fantasy, you’ll likely enjoy this book.

Buy it on Amazon
Buy it on Amazon
9 thoughts on “Review | Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Reg (She Latitude) October 27, 2015 / 7:38 PM

    Great review! I just reserved this from the library but have yet to pick it up, but your review made me really want to read it ASAP. I’m a bit iffy about the ‘female assassin’ plotline because I think it has the potential to be Mary Sue-ish, but I’ve actually yet to see a bad review yet for this book/series. :p

    Like

    • Rachel K October 27, 2015 / 7:44 PM

      Thank you! I thought the same about the whole assassin thing, but it kinda worked for me. I was actually a little disappointed that it wasn’t that prominent. Like, it was an important part of her character, but we didn’t actually see a whole lot of evidence. Hopefully that will change as the series continues!

      Like

  2. alilovesbooks October 27, 2015 / 8:34 PM

    Read the next one. In my opinion it’s even better and the best in the series. You definitely get the world’s greatest assassin 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachel K October 27, 2015 / 8:47 PM

      I’m picking the next one up from the library in a couple of days; I’m so excited to read it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Fafa's Book Corner October 28, 2015 / 5:54 PM

    Awesome! I’m so happy to see that you enjoyed this! And it gets better as the series continues. It starts out pretty simple but turns into a pretty complex series with character development. Great review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

