Friday Finds #7

Friday Finds is a weekly meme hosted by A Daily Rhythm and showcases the books you’ve found during the week and added to your TBR list.

Unlike previously, I haven’t added many books to my TBR this week. I’m still gonna do a Friday Finds though, because why not?

Friday Finds #7


Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

I’ve seen a lot of talk about Six of Crows, and it sounds like a really interesting book. I’ve also heard that I’ll get more out of it if I read The Grisha Trilogy first, so that’s one of the reasons I’ve added this book. Also, it sounds like a great story in and of itself, so there’s that, too.

Blurb:
Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.

Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha . . . and the secrets of her heart.


A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

I can’t quite remember where I saw this book (though I think someone posted something about it on their blog; if that was you, let me know and I’ll edit this post). It sounds like a really interesting book with parallel universes, which is a topic that I find fascinating.

Blurb:
Kell is one of the last Travelers—rare magicians who choose a parallel universe to visit.

Grey London is dirty, boring, lacks magic, ruled by mad King George. Red London is where life and magic are revered, and the Maresh Dynasty presides over a flourishing empire. White London is ruled by whoever has murdered their way to the throne. People fight to control magic, and the magic fights back, draining the city to its very bones. Once there was Black London—but no one speaks of that now.

Officially, Kell is the Red Traveler, personal ambassador and adopted Prince of Red London, carrying the monthly correspondences between royals of each London. Unofficially, Kell smuggles for those willing to pay for even a glimpse of a world they’ll never see. This dangerous hobby sets him up for accidental treason. Fleeing into Grey London, Kell runs afoul of Delilah Bard, a cut-purse with lofty aspirations. She robs him, saves him from a dangerous enemy, then forces him to another world for her ‘proper adventure’.

But perilous magic is afoot, and treachery lurks at every turn. To save all of the worlds, Kell and Lila will first need to stay alive—trickier than they hoped.


So those are my finds for the week. Have you read any of these books? Are there any books you added to you TBR this week that you’re really excited to read?

6 thoughts on “Friday Finds #7

  1. Fafa's Book Corner October 30, 2015 / 1:17 PM

    I have read Six of Crows and it’s really good! I never had an interest in reading Shadow and Bone. You can still understand what happens in Six of Crows without having to read The Grisha trilogy. I’m not saying that you shouldn’t read Grisha but that you don’t necessarily need to. There is a Grisha in Six of Crows. I found that the Grisha world and their abilities are very interesting! I haven’t gotten around to reading A Darker Shade of Magic yet but I’ve heard it’s really good. Plus it has magic and I love magic. I don’t doubt that it’ll be good. I hope that when you get around to reading these two you’ll enjoy them!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachel K October 30, 2015 / 1:28 PM

      I’ll keep that in mind about Six of Crow/Grisha, thanks!
      I hope I enjoy them, too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

