October Wrap Up

Well, that’s another month gone. How has it all gone so fast?! This is my second month book blogging, and once again, I’ve really enjoyed it. I love talking to all of you about great books, and I’m really starting to feel at home in the book blogging community. Anyway, onward to the wrap up!

Page Break

What I read this month…

The Whitechapel FiendNothing but ShadowsThe Evil We LoveTales from the Shadowhunter Academy #3, #4, and #5 by Cassandra Clare

I’m slowly getting through this series of short stories. I generally read them in between books, or when I can’t be bothered taking the book I’m reading to wherever I’m going. I’m enjoying them more and more as the series goes on (for the most part, anyway).


Post MortemPost Mortem by Kate London

This was the first crime novel I’ve ever read, and I really enjoyed it. I haven’t gotten around to reading any other books of the genre, but I do intend to. You can find my review here.


A Killing Among FriendsA Killing Among Friends by Toni Morrow Wyatt

I got this book through NetGalley, and it was a little strange. Not necessarily bad, just not something I would normally read. For the most part, I enjoyed it, so that’s a something. You can find my full review here.


The Casquette GirlsThe Casquette Girls by Alys Arden

I absolutely loved this book! This was another NetGalley one, and it definitely exceeded my expectations. It’s a really exciting and thrilling urban fantasy/paranormal story, with a lot of great characters. As it is yet to be released, I’ll be posting my review closer to the publication date, so keep an eye out for it in the next couple of weeks!


NirvanaNirvana by J.R. Stewart

I had a lot of mixed feelings about this book. I enjoyed some parts of it, but felt let down by a lot of others. Overall, I think it had heaps of potential, but just fell a little short. You can find my review here.


Aristotle and DanteAristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

This book was amazing! I have so much love for it, and I just want everyone to read it. I know it’s not a book that everyone will enjoy as much as I did, but I still feel like I have to at least strongly recommend it. You can read my full, emotional, blubbery review here.


Throne of GlassThrone of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

This was another book that I loved! I’m sure pretty much everyone reading this post would have heard of this series by now (and know its reputation), so you don’t need me to tell you about it. You can read my review here.


Paint My Body RedPaint My Body Red by Heidi R. Kling

This was another NetGalley book. I finished it a couple of days ago, and I really enjoyed it. It dealt with a lot of difficult topics, but they were handled with a lot of raw grace, which made it a really moving book. I’ll be posting a full review in a couple of days.

Page Break

What I posted this month…

I tried to post fairly regularly this month, and I kind of achieved that… I had a total of 22 posts this month, so I’d say that’s a pretty good effort.

Weekly memes
Friday Finds: #3, #4, #5, #6, #7
WWW Wednesday: #2, #3, #4, #5

Reviews
Made You Up by Francesca Zappia
Post Mortem by Kate London
A Killing Among Friends by Toni Morrow Wyatt
Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
Nirvana by J.R. Stewart

Other
Shelfie!
My One Month Blogiversary!!
The Emoji Book Tag
Series Spotlight | Vampire Academy
Discussion | Why we want visual adaptations of books we love…
Milestones!

Page Break

What happened with my blog this month…

I had a lot of people interacting with my blog this month, so thank you all so much for that. It really makes this whole thing feel less like shouting into the void.

Views: 333

Visitors: 115

Likes: 183

Comments: 105

Follower Count: 59

Page Break

What I did with my life this month…

Pretty much the same as last month, tbh. I’m still busy with uni, though we’ve finished classes now. I still have a few assignments to finish off, and some exams in a few weeks, but it’s all wrapping up really quickly, which is pretty scary. I have no idea how I’m gonna survive next year in the real world >.<

Last weekend, I went to Auckland Armageddon Expo which is a nerdy convention, sort of in the vein of Comic Con. I had such a great weekend with my sister, and we always do with Armageddon. I didn’t really take any photos this year, which is a shame.

Page Break

Once again, I want to thank everyone that has followed me, liked and commented on my posts this month. I really love talking to you guys and getting to know the book blogging community.
Thanks for the great month! 😀

5 thoughts on “October Wrap Up

  1. Eve Messenger October 31, 2015 / 5:59 PM

    Wow, it looks like you got a lot of good reading in this month. I’m super curious about Casquette Girls. (Clever…Casquette = casket?)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachel K October 31, 2015 / 7:41 PM

      I did indeed 🙂
      You’re right about The Casquette (casket) Girls! It’s a really interesting book, I’d definitely recommend it.

      Like

  2. rathertoofondofbooks October 31, 2015 / 10:13 PM

    Looks like you had a great reading month! 🙂 I have Post Mortem on my TBR so I’m really looking forward to it now. Hope you have fun discovering more crime fiction in the future. I love it when I try a new genre and find I really like it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. bbooksmartblog November 2, 2015 / 3:10 PM

    Ah you read so much! It’s always nice to see when people have good reading months:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

