Top Ten Tuesday | Book to Movie Adaptations

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by the folks over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme has a choice, and I’ve decided to go with ‘Top Ten Book To Movie Adaptations I’m Looking Forward To.’

I haven’t participated in TTT since the first time I did it back in September. As there are some great topics coming up, I’m going to try to do it a bit more regularly.

The following are in no particular order…
The book cover links to Goodreads, the title links to IMDb


MockingjayMockingjay – Part II by Suzanne Collins

These movies have been great so far, and I’m really looking forward to how they conclude the movie series. I did feel like Part I was mostly just building up to this movie, so hopefully it lives up to it.

US Release Date: November 20th, 2015


Fantastic BeastsFantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J.K. Rowling

Man, I’m so hyped for this movie, it’s not even funny. Have you guys seen the recently released pictures, and the movie synopsis? It’s sad that it’s still a year away, but hopefully that’ll go quickly!

US Release Date: November 18th, 2016


Looking for AlaskaLooking For Alaska by John Green

This was the first John Green book I read, and I’ve since re-read it, so I’m really excited to see what they come up with for the movie. I heard awhile ago that they’d pushed the filming start date back because they wanted to spend more time to get the casting perfect, which can only be a good sign.

Release Date: 2016


The Death CureThe Death Cure by James Dashner

I really enjoyed the first two Maze Runner movies, even if The Scorch Trials varied wildly from the book. The director of that film, Wes Ball, is returning to direct TDC, so hopefully it’ll be good. Sadly, though, we have to wait over a year for it.

US Release Date: February 17th, 2017


AllegiantAllegiant by Veronica Roth

I’m a little sceptical about this book being broken into two movies (with the second part being called Ascendant). Insurgent was a strange movie, and I have mixed feelings about it, so I’m not sure how these two movies will turn out.

Allegiant US Release Date: March 18th, 2016
Ascendant US Release Date: March 24th, 2017


Let It SnowLet It Snow by Lauren Myracle, John Green, and Maureen Johnson

I read this book around Christmas time last year (in one day, too!), and I loved it. I only just found out there are plans to make it into a movie. I’m not sure how they’ll do it, because the book is a collection of three short stories that only come together a bit at the end. Regardless, I think it’ll make a really cute film.

US Release Date: December 9th, 2016


The 5th WaveThe 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

I heard a lot about this book earlier in the year. I only discovered the upcoming movie when looking up adaptations for this post. I wasn’t 100% sold on the book when I was hearing about it before, but now I might have to check it out before the movie is released!

US Release Date: January 15th, 2016


Miss Peregrine'sMiss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

I’ve had this book on my TBR for a little while now, and I’ll hopefully get around to reading it soon. This was another case of only just finding out about a movie adaptation. It’s directed by Tim Burton, so it must be good, right?

US Release Date: December 25th, 2016


The BFGThe BFG by Roald Dahl

I loved this book as a kid, so it’ll be interesting to see a live action movie of it. I can’t wait to see what Spielberg does with it.

US Release Date: July 1st, 2016


FallenFallen by Lauren Kate

I read this book (and two of the sequels, I think…?) 4-5 years ago. I can’t remember much about the story, but I think I enjoyed it… Regardless, I hope it makes a good movie.

US Release Date: 2016


So those are some book-to-movie adaptations I’m looking forward to. How many of these have you read? What other movie adaptations are you excited about?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday | Book to Movie Adaptations

  1. T.K. Lawrence November 12, 2015 / 10:12 AM

    I have Mockingjay II on my list as well! I did not know that Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children would have a film adaption, but the book is amazing, so hopefully the film adaption will be too! Nice TTT! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

