Friday Finds #9

Friday Finds is a weekly meme hosted by Jenn at A Daily Rhythm and showcases the books you’ve found during the week and added to your TBR list.

Friday Finds #9


The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

I heard about this book awhile ago, but I wasn’t completely sold on it. I rediscovered it when I was looking up movie adaptations for this week’s TTT. There’s been a lot of great reviews of this book, so I’d like to read it before the movie comes out.

Blurb:
After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother–or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.


Down the Wormhole by Ana Franco

Ana contacted me about reading and reviewing her book, so that’s why I’ve added it to my TBR. It looks quite interesting, so hopefully I’ll get around to reading it soon!

Blurb:
Medusa is a nice girl, Aphrodite is empowering, Loki vanished on thin air, Isis doesn’t have a memory and Anubis is the only sane one. Join them all in an adventure that mixes the styles of ABC’s Once Upon A Time and Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson. What this can possibly mean? Why, chaos, of course!


Uprooted by Naomi Novik

I read the first two and a half books in Novik’s Temeraire series earlier in the year. Though I really enjoyed the first one, the others were too politically-focused for my liking. That series wasn’t YA, but this one is, so hopefully I’ll enjoy it more. I really enjoyed how Novik portrayed the dragons in Temeraire, so I’m looking forward to seeing what she does in Uprooted. Also, it’s a nominee in the Goodreads Awards for Best Young Adult Fantasy & Science Fiction, so it must be good, right?

Blurb:
Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted Wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life.

Her people rely on the cold, driven wizard known only as the Dragon to keep its powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as falling to the Wood.

The next choosing is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid. She knows—everyone knows—that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia, all the things Agnieszka isn’t, and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her.

But Agnieszka fears the wrong things. For when the Dragon comes, it is not Kasia he will choose.


Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

I’ve heard about this book a few times over the past few months that I’ve been involved in the book community. It looks like a really intriguing story, and I’m a sucker for wolves, so there’s that, too.

Blurb:
For years, Grace has watched the wolves in the woods behind her house. One yellow-eyed wolf—her wolf—is a chilling presence she can’t seem to live without.

Meanwhile, Sam has lived two lives: In winter, the frozen woods, the protection of the pack, and the silent company of a fearless girl. In summer, a few precious months of being human… until the cold makes him shift back again.

Now, Grace meets a yellow-eyed boy whose familiarity takes her breath away. It’s her wolf. It has to be. But as winter nears, Sam must fight to stay human—or risk losing himself, and Grace, forever.


24 Hours by Claire Seeber

I heard about this book through Claire @ Art and Soul’s WWW Wednesday post, and thought it looked really interesting. I’ve requested it on NetGalley, so hopefully I’ll be approved. If not, I’ll find some other way to read it!

Blurb:
Here today. Dead tomorrow?
My best friend, Emily, is dead – killed last night in a hotel fire.
But it was meant to be me.
Now I have 24 hours to find my daughter.
Before he finds out I’m still alive.

24 Hours is a fast-paced, intelligent psychological thriller that will leave you breathless.


So those are my finds for the week. Have you read any of these books? Are there any books you added to you TBR this week that you’re really excited to read?

4 thoughts on “Friday Finds #9

  1. Claire | Art and Soul November 13, 2015 / 1:00 PM

    I hope you get approved for 24 Hours 🙂 It’s a very well-written story, although I struggled to connect with the main character. However, if you don’t have that problem you’re sure to love it because the pace and writing are great.
    I’d also like to read Shiver and The 5th Wave… the TBR keeps expanding… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yvo November 13, 2015 / 2:22 PM

    I’ve read The 5th Wave and Shiver and wasn’t really overwhelmed by either, but 24 Hours definitely sounds like a great read. I hope you get approved! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. missdarcy87 November 14, 2015 / 4:12 AM

    I’ve seen so much of Uprooted, I feel I need to check this book out. It looks interesting! Great finds! Here’s my post for the week. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

