Top Ten Tuesday | Quotes I Loved

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by the folks over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is ‘Top Ten Quotes I Loved From Books I Read In The Past Year Or So.’


  1. “What made the difference between choosing to die and deciding to live? Was it the weight of sadness that buckled them over and dragged them away from all sane, rational thoughts with an anchor of hopelessness so intense they just gave up fighting?”

    – Paint My Body Red by Heidi R. Kling

  2. “No matter how much pepper you eat, it won’t undo the ludicrous amount of salt you ate before it.”

    – Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

  3. “Take pride in your pain; you are stronger than those who have none”

    – Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry

  4. “People say teenagers think they’re immortal, and I agree with that. But I think there’s a difference between thinking you’re immortal and knowing you can survive. Thinking you’re immortal leads to arrogance, thinking you deserve the best. Surviving means having the worst thrown at you and being able to continue on despite that. It means striving for what you want most, even when it seems our of your reach, even when everything is working against you.”

    – Made You Up by Francesca Zappia

  5. “Things to do today: 1) Breathe in. 2) Breathe out.”

    – It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

  6. “Dead kids are put on pedestals, but mentally ill kids get hidden under the rug.”

    – Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman

  7. “The world needs more boundary pushers, not more boundary creators.”

    – The Casquette Girls by Alys Arden

  8. “And they are beginning to realize that the world they live in is a place where the right thing is often hard, sometimes dangerous, and frequently unpopular.”

    – Number the Stars by Lois Lowry

  9. “No one knows for certain how much impact they have on the lives of other people. Oftentimes, we have no clue. Yet we push it just the same.”

    – Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

  10. “You have to know what you stand for, not just what you stand against.”

    Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson


So those are some quotes that I really liked from books I’ve recently read. What are some of your favourite book quotes?

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday | Quotes I Loved

  1. rosemawrites November 17, 2015 / 4:43 PM

    I’ve read Speak and I believe I highlighted that sentence, too! 😀

    You’re the second or third blogger I’ve read a quote from Made You Up. Is it a good read? 🙂

    BTW, you may want to read mine! 😀 It’s here: http://wp.me/p4ZhSl-li.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachel @ One Little Bookshelf November 17, 2015 / 4:50 PM

      Made You Up is a really great book! It’s about a teenage girl who was diagnosed with schizophrenia when she was little, and now she’s trying to deal with high school and everything else. I’d definitely recommend it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • rosemawrites November 17, 2015 / 4:53 PM

        Oooohh. You made it sound so great! 😀 I will definitely add it to my TBR!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Maria November 17, 2015 / 6:36 PM

    Speak is so amazing. Every time I read it I think I learn something new.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachel @ One Little Bookshelf November 17, 2015 / 6:45 PM

      I think I might have to read it again at some point! I didn’t enjoy it as much as other people did, but I think I’ll like it more a second time around because I understand it quite a bit more.

      Like

Leave a Reply

