Review | Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Crown of MidnightTitle: Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Release Date:
August 15th, 2013
Publisher:
Bloomsbury
Genre:
YA, High Fantasy
Pages: 418
Rating:
5/5

From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie… and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.


This book was such a wild ride. I absolutely loved every second of it, though. I thought it was a incredible follow-up to the stunning Throne of Glassand now I am well and truly hooked on the series. You guys weren’t kidding when you said the series got better after the first book!

Throughout this whole book, I was completely enthralled with the story. I loved learning more about the Wyrdmarks and all the other things that Celaena discovered. I’m glad we’re starting to get a lot more information about this ancient magic, and I love finding out all the little intricacies as they come to light. There were so many twists and turns, and the detail and thought that Maas has put into this world is incredible.

The character development in this book was really interesting to read; there was a lot going on for all the main characters. I noted in my review of Throne of Glass that I thought Celaena didn’t seem as tough as she ought to be, considering she’s this notorious assassin. In this book, we certainly saw just how lethal she can be, and the many scenes that showcased this were written beautifully. I loved seeing this darker side to Celaena, and it made her feel a lot more real. Now, don’t even get me started on my darling Dorian and his surprising/amazing/perfect character arc.

I absolutely loved seeing Celaena and Chaol’s relationship blossom, though some of the earlier parts of it seemed a little sudden. But I guess it does make sense because this book starts two months (I think…) after the end of Throne of Glass. Though I believe Celaena had been away for quite a bit of that… Anyway, it just seemed like, in the first book, there wasn’t a huuuge amount of whatever going on with them, so I guess it felt a little hurried. Regardless, I thought it was adorable.

I thought the twists in the story were great, though I did predict the last one. The other big one was a total surprise, though. I can’t wait to see how it all begins to unfold in Heir of Fire! Overall, this was a great sequel to Throne of Glass. I’m annoyed that it’s taken so long for me to read this series. In my defence, though, I only heard about it around 6-7 months ago when I started getting into Goodreads. I’m really glad I read The Assassin’s Blade before reading CoM because there were quite a few mentions of things that happened in those novellas in this book. So yeah, if you haven’t yet read the ToG series, I very strongly recommend you do!

Buy it on Amazon
Buy it on Amazon
Buy it on Book Depository
Buy it on Book Depository
7 thoughts on “Review | Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Fafa's Book Corner November 19, 2015 / 2:01 PM

    I agree with you! As the series continues it does become more complex and little by little you find out information about the magic and the King’s involvement. I personally found that Heir of Fire was enjoyable but not as good as Crown of Midnight. I am very happy to see that you are getting into this series! Great review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. alilovesbooks November 20, 2015 / 10:47 AM

    Crown of midnight remains my favourite in the series so far. Am so glad you loved it too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

