Review | Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

Heir of FireTitle: Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Release Date:
September 2nd, 2014
Publisher:
Bloomsbury
Genre:
YA, High Fantasy
Pages: 562
Rating:
5/5

This review contains minor spoilers for the first two books in the Throne of Glass series.

She was the heir of ash and fire, and she would bow to no one.

Celaena Sardothien has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak—but at an unspeakable cost. Now she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth…a truth about her heritage that could change her life—and her future—forever.

Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. To defeat them, Celaena must find the strength to not only fight her inner demons but to battle the evil that is about to be unleashed.

The king’s assassin takes on an even greater destiny and burns brighter than ever before.


I am so in love with this series! I don’t even know how to express how good these books are. I love the characters and the setting and the magic and the plot and just everything UGHHHHH.

I think my favourite part of this book was Rowan. I just have so much love for him, and I really really hope he’s in Queen of Shadows a lot. I loved seeing his and Celaena’s relationship develop throughout the course of the book. I thought the progression of their friendship was very natural, and I love that they’ve both found someone they can really talk to and trust.

The only complaint I have about this book is that the start was a little slow. It was only around the 1/3rd mark that I felt that things were ramping up. Still, everything that happened in the first part of the book was important to the rest of story, so it’s definitely not all bad.

I loved all the development in this story; not just characters, but the whole plot. The way Dorian and Chaol evolved throughout this book with Celaena gone was really interesting – not just as individuals, but their relationship. It was hard to see how Celaena had come between them, and since she was gone, they struggled to relate to each other anymore.

I initially didn’t like the parts of the story that focused on the witches, but by the end, I really started to like reading about Manon and Abraxos. I loved seeing how Manon changed her way of thinking toward the end of the book; I really look forward to reading about her in future books.

It’s really interesting learning more about what is going on with magic, and what the king did to make it disappear. I loved seeing what happened in Terrasen the night Celaena’s parents were killed, and the king’s role in all of it.

Overall, I really like how this series is developing. I think the pacing of this book, and the series as a whole, is great. These books are at the top of my to-buy list, which is a big complement because I’m a poor student and don’t have the money to buy books very often. I’ve heard great things about Queen of Shadows, so I’m really really looking forward to reading it!

Amazon
Buy it on Amazon
12 thoughts on “Review | Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

  1. adeleclayton November 23, 2015 / 6:48 PM

    Hello! I really like your review of this book. I just thought I’d tell you that you marked this book as #2 in the series when this is book #3; but I think you know that? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fafa's Book Corner November 24, 2015 / 3:30 PM

    Yes I agree! I also did not like reading about Manon in the beginning. But I grew to enjoy reading about her. And yes it was fun to see what happened the night Celeana’s parents were murdered. And how Celeana grew to except the fact that she will be queen soon. I liked reading about the people who were in the kitchen with her. They were sweet. As far as Rowan goes, I don’t love him and I really didn’t like how he treated Celeana in the beginning, but I do hold a certain amount of respect for him. Yes Rowan and Manon will be coming in Queen of Shadows. Along with some characters from The Assassins Blade. I haven’t around to reading it yet but from what I’ve heard we will get read about Manon and Asterin’s relationship, Chaol’s and Dorian’s friendship, and Lysandra and Celeana’s friendship. I am looking forward to reading Queen of Shadows and cannot wait for the two of us to talk about it! I am very happy to see that you liked this! Great review 🙂
    Btw how did you find the ending for this book? It was brutal in my point of view.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachel @ One Little Bookshelf November 24, 2015 / 4:47 PM

      Thank you 🙂
      I read the Assassin’s Blade before I read Crown of Midnight, so I’m looking forward to seeing some characters from that pop up. I’ll hopefully be picking Queen of Shadows up from the library in a few days, so I’m sure I’ll have it read in no time! When will you be reading it, do you think?

      I was really shocked by the ending! I don’t really know what to make of it, but I really hope Aedion gets out. It was interesting to see the king taking more of a forward approach with both Dorian and Chaol, so I really look forward to seeing what happens with all of them in QoS.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Fafa's Book Corner November 24, 2015 / 6:53 PM

        Same here! Yes from what I’ve heard Aedion will be coming back. Unfortunately I’ll probably be getting around to it next year. I’ll be going on a vacation in December and when I come back I’d like to read some other books. It’s fairly big so I’ll see if I can read it in January.
        I look forward to your review! You’re welcome 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

