Friday Finds #11

Friday Finds is a weekly meme hosted by A Daily Rhythm and showcases the books you’ve found during the week and added to your TBR list.


The Sister PactThe Sister Pact by Stacie Ramey

I found this book through Shelby @ Brunette With A Book’s blog tour post. It has quite an interesting premise, so hopefully I’ll enjoy it.

Blurb:
A suicide pact was supposed to keep them together, but a broken promise tore them apart

Allie is devastated when her older sister commits suicide – and not just because she misses her. Allie feels betrayed. The two made a pact that they’d always be together, in life, and in death, but Leah broke her promise and Allie needs to know why.

Her parents hover. Her friends try to support her. And Nick, sweet Nick, keeps calling and flirting. Their sympathy only intensifies her grief.

But the more she clings to Leah, the more secrets surface. Allie’s not sure which is more distressing: discovering the truth behind her sister’s death or facing her new reality without her.


Prince of ThornsPrince of Thorns by Mark Lawrence

I’m not too sure how much I’ll like this book, as it sounds like it has quite a different vibe than most of the books I read. It sounds interesting enough that I’d like to read it anyway.

Blurb:
Before the thorns taught me their sharp lessons and bled weakness from me I had but one brother, and I loved him well. But those days are gone and what is left of them lies in my mother’s tomb. Now I have many brothers, quick with knife and sword, and as evil as you please. We ride this broken empire and loot its corpse. They say these are violent times, the end of days when the dead roam and monsters haunt the night. All that’s true enough, but there’s something worse out there, in the dark. Much worse.

From being a privileged royal child, raised by a loving mother, Jorg Ancrath has become the Prince of Thorns, a charming, immoral boy leading a grim band of outlaws in a series of raids and atrocities. The world is in chaos: violence is rife, nightmares everywhere. Jorg has the ability to master the living and the dead, but there is still one thing that puts a chill in him. Returning to his father’s castle Jorg must confront horrors from his childhood and carve himself a future with all hands turned against him.

Mark Lawrence’s debut novel tells a tale of blood and treachery, magic and brotherhood and paints a compelling and brutal, and sometimes beautiful, picture of an exceptional boy on his journey toward manhood and the throne.


November 9November 9 by Colleen Hoover

I’ve heard quite a bit about this book recently, but it was Dee @ The Bookish Khaleesi’s review that convinced me to add this to my TBR. I’m not normally a romance reader, but this sounds like such a beautiful book, that I’ll just have to read it!

Blurb:
Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.


The Winner's CurseThe Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

This book has been floating around my Goodreads feed a lot lately, so I was eventually forced to actually see what it was about. It sounds pretty good, but I’ve been adding a lot of high fantasy books to my TBR recently, so I’ll have to break up when I read them.

Blurb:
Winning what you want may cost you everything you love…

As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions.

One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction. Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him—with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin.

But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined.


Asking For ItAsking For It by Louise O’Neill

I heard about this book through Chrissi Reads’ TTT. It kind of reminds me of Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson, which I had mixed feelings about.

Blurb:
It’s the beginning of the summer in a small town in Ireland. Emma O’Donovan is eighteen years old, beautiful, happy, confident. One night, there’s a party. Everyone is there. All eyes are on Emma.

The next morning, she wakes on the front porch of her house. She can’t remember what happened, she doesn’t know how she got there. She doesn’t know why she’s in pain. But everyone else does.

Photographs taken at the party show, in explicit detail, what happened to Emma that night. But sometimes people don’t want to believe what is right in front of them, especially when the truth concerns the town’s heroes…


I also added a bunch of books that I found while writing up next week’s TTT. I won’t include those because, not only are there quite a few, but you’ll see them in a few days 🙂


So those are my finds for the week – there were so many! Have you read any of these books? Are there any books you added to you TBR this week that you’re really excited to read?

5 thoughts on “Friday Finds #11

  1. Ashley November 30, 2015 / 1:57 AM

    Great finds! I recently got The Winner’s Curse and it sounds pretty interesting. Prince of Thorns sounds pretty interesting as well! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Molly's Book Nook November 30, 2015 / 3:08 AM

    Prince of Thorns sounds really interesting! Definitely adding that one to my TBR for this week 🙂 Asking for It definitely reminds me of Speak as well. I read Speak probably 13 or 14 years ago, so if I remember correctly, I really liked it!

    Great choices this week, I haven’t read any of them hahah 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

