WWW Wednesday #11

WWW Wednesday is a weekly book meme hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.

WWW Wednesday

To join in, just answer the following three questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?


Currently Reading…

The Rest of Us Just Live HereThe Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

This is the first Ness book I’ve read. I’m not blown away, but it is pretty good. I still really want to read some of his other books that I’ve heard are amazing.

Blurb:
What if you aren’t the Chosen One?

The one who’s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever the heck this new thing is, with the blue lights and the death?

What if you’re like Mikey? Who just wants to graduate and go to prom and maybe finally work up the courage to ask Henna out before someone goes and blows up the high school. Again.

Because sometimes there are problems bigger than this week’s end of the world, and sometimes you just have to find the extraordinary in your ordinary life.

Even if your best friend is worshipped by mountain lions.

24 Hours24 Hours by Claire Seeber

This is the first proper thriller novel that I’ve read and, so far, it’s pretty good. I haven’t picked it up for a few days, but hopefully I’ll get back to it soon.

Blurb:
Here today. Dead tomorrow?
My best friend, Emily, is dead – killed last night in a hotel fire.
But it was meant to be me.
Now I have 24 hours to find my daughter.
Before he finds out I’m still alive.

24 Hours is a fast-paced, intelligent psychological thriller that will leave you breathless.


Recently Finished…

18006496Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

AAAHHHHHH. I loved this book so much >.< You can find my 10-minutes-after-I-finished-the-book ramblings here, if you are so inclined. I’ll be posting my full review tomorrow, so keep an eye out for it!

(The blurb below has spoilers for the first three Throne of Glass books, so it you haven’t read them, but you want to, I would avoid reading it!)

Blurb:
The queen has returned.

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past…

She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die for her. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.

The Adoration of Jenna FoxThe Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson

This book was pretty good. I wasn’t amazed, but it was still quite interesting and thought-provoking. I will be reading the other two books in the series, though. You can find my mini-review here.

Blurb:
Seventeen-year-old Jenna Fox has just awoken from a year-long coma – so she’s been told – and she is still recovering from the terrible accident that caused it. But what happened before that? She’s been given home movies chronicling her entire life, which spark memories to surface. But are the memories really hers? And why won’t anyone in her family talk about the accident? Jenna is becoming more curious. But she is also afraid of what she might find out if she ever gets up the courage to ask her questions.


Reading Next…

Ready Player One Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

I’ve heard only great things about this book, so I’m really looking forward to reading it. I hope I’m not disappointed!

Blurb:
In the year 2044, reality is an ugly place. The only time teenage Wade Watts really feels alive is when he’s jacked into the virtual utopia known as the  OASIS. Wade’s devoted his life to studying the puzzles hidden within this world’s digital confines, puzzles that are based on their creator’s obsession with the pop culture of decades past and that promise massive power and fortune to whoever can unlock them. When Wade stumbles upon the first clue, he finds himself beset by players willing to kill to take this ultimate prize. The race is on, and if Wade’s going to survive, he’ll have to win—and confront the real world he’s always been so desperate to escape.


Have you read any of these books, and what have you been reading? Let me know in the comments!

Now, I need to get back to studying for the final exam of my diploma, which is tomorrow!

3 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday #11

  1. Claire | Art and Soul December 9, 2015 / 10:10 PM

    Queen of Shadows was great. Particularly the last 100 pages. I don’t think I’ve read anything so quickly for ages. I was gripped! Looking forward to your review 🙂
    Your feelings about The Rest of Us Just Live here sum up what I thought. Ness has written better things so I hope you have time to check out some of this other books.
    I was a little disappointed by Ready Player One, but I think that was more because I had such high expectation (hype strikes again!). I hope you enjoy it.
    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2015/12/09/www-wednesday-9th-december-2015/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

