Review | Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

18006496Title: Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Release Date:
September 1st, 2015
Publisher:
Bloomsbury
Genre:
YA, High Fantasy
Pages: 648 (Hardcover)
Rating:
5/5

This review contains spoilers for the first three books in the Throne of Glass series (particularly the first two).

The queen has returned.

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past…

She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die for her. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.


Wow. I have no words. If you saw my ramblings the other day, you might have some idea of how I feel about this book. Some of you kept telling me how amazing this book is, how it’s the best in the series so far and, boy, you weren’t wrong!

“She was fire, and light, and ash, and embers. She was Aelin Fireheart, and she bowed for no one and nothing, save the crown that was hers by blood and survival and triumph.”

I love that Celaena is now officially Aelin – it was strange in the last book how she was still kind of Celaena, but also Aelin…? Anyway, she is incredible, and it was great to see her develop as a leader and accept her role in everything that is going on. I was a little sad to see what had become of her and Chaol’s relationship. I get that everything’s pretty tense and complicated and whatnot, but I still thought they could have been a bit more friendly toward one another.

If you read my review for Heir of Fire, you would have seen that I’m a little bit in love with Rowan (that might be understating it…). Well, he was just outstanding in this book. It was rather entertaining seeing him and Aedion go up against each other with their ridiculous Fae alpha-male thing, at least to begin with. I must admit, it did get a little bit tiresome after awhile. However, I was glad how they gave it a rest towards the end of the book. Actually, I really loved the whole development of their relationship – it felt very realistic to both of their characters and the situation.

I really loved Manon and the witches in this book. I’m so glad that Manon is starting to think for herself a whole lot more after the events of Heir of Fire. The meeting between Manon and Aelin was incredibly exciting to read, and I loved that whole outcome.

I think one of my new favourite characters is Lysandra: she was just amazing in this book! I was pretty skeptical when I heard she was in this book, because I really didn’t like her in The Assassin’s Blade. It was so great to learn about her relationship with Arobynn, Wesley and Sam. I’m also really happy that Aelin has a friend like this again after what happened to Nehemia.

The development of the series in this book was, again, fantastic. The trajectory of the story is very exciting, and I can’t wait to see what happens in the final two books! Too bad there’s such a long wait >.<

Amazon
Buy it on Amazon
Buy it on Book Depository
Buy it on Book Depository
10 thoughts on “Review | Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

  1. emilytalksaboutbooks December 10, 2015 / 1:36 PM

    I loved this book, and I am glad to see you enjoyed it as well! I also might have a tiny (or huge) crush on Rowan, he is just perfect. I was also very happy that Lysandra came into this book and slayed everyone. It is nice to see Aelin with another strong, female friend.

    Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. T.K. Lawrence December 10, 2015 / 5:07 PM

    So glad you liked “Queen of Shadows!” 🙂 Can’t believe it’s another YEAR until ToG #5…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. LorevaRaven December 11, 2015 / 2:47 AM

    So happy that you enjoyed Queen Of Shadows! I love this book so much, I had such a detailed rambling! Me and my friends are still making up crackpot theories bout the next book! The wait for the next book is NEVERENDING!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Fafa's Book Corner December 15, 2015 / 12:09 PM

    I’m so happy that you enjoyed this book! I can’t wait to read about Lysandra and Manon. I feel that they will be interesting characters. I wonder whether I will actually start liking Rowan after Queen of Shadows. I respect him but that’s it.

    How did you find all the new characters? And Dorian and Chaol’s relationship?

    I can’t wait to read this in January! We can gush over it together! Keep a lookout for my review 😉

    Great review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachel @ One Little Bookshelf December 15, 2015 / 12:14 PM

      I wasn’t blown away by the new characters – they were just kind of there. They had their moments where they were good, though. I loved that Chaol was desperate to save Dorian! I was a little upset by what had become of Chaol and Aelin’s relationship, though – it didn’t feel quite right. But we can talk about that once you’ve read the book 😉
      I can’t wait to read your review!! I hope you love the book 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

