Review | 24 Hours by Claire Seeber

24 HoursTitle: 24 Hours
Author: Claire Seeber
Release Date: October 9th, 2015
Publisher:
Bookouture
Genre:
Psychological Thriller
Pages: 304 (Kindle)
Rating:
3/5

Here today. Dead tomorrow?
My best friend, Emily, is dead – killed last night in a hotel fire.
But it was meant to be me.
Now I have 24 hours to find my daughter.
Before he finds out I’m still alive.

24 Hours is a fast-paced, intelligent psychological thriller that will leave you breathless.


This was quite a captivating story that was really enjoyable in parts. However, I didn’t really feel any connection to the characters, so it can’t say I loved it. The story was well written, though, so I was still interested in what was happening.

The story is told in alternating chapters, switching between ‘now’ and ‘then’. The ‘now’ part of the story tells of what happened after the fire that killed the main character, Laurie’s, best friend. I really liked some of the characters that were introduced in the later parts of these chapters, and I was glad to see them pop up in the epilogue. These chapters were high-tension and very exciting to read. The ‘then’ chapters, however, were often slow and dull in comparison.

It took me awhile to get into the story, and it was really only the last third that truly engaged me. Throughout the story, the main character, Laurie, had a whole lot going on in her life, so she was a bit of a mess. I just couldn’t relate to any of it, so I couldn’t connect with her. It was only when events started to ramp up, and the different parts of the story started coming together, that I felt truly drawn in.

There are quite a few important topics discussed in this book. Laurie is going through a divorce, with her young daughter, Polly, stuck in the middle. There main issue in here is domestic violence, and there is quite a bit of great discussion of it throughout. I found this to be a really strong point for the book, and it made me strongly sympathetic towards Laurie and all she was going through.

I think this book would be really enjoyable for many. However, as I didn’t feel invested in the characters, I struggled to love it. It was definitely a strong psychological thriller that was filled with enough of red herrings to make it exciting, but not tiresome. Overall, a really solid story that many would enjoy.

*I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

Amazon
Buy it on Amazon
One thought on “Review | 24 Hours by Claire Seeber

Leave a Reply

