WWW Wednesday #13

WWW Wednesday is a weekly book meme hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.

WWW Wednesday

To join in, just answer the following three questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?


Currently Reading…

My True Love Gave To MeMy True Love Gave To Me edited by Stephanie Perkins

I’m about halfway through this and I’m pretty disappointed, to be honest. There’s only be a couple of stories that I really liked, and the others have just been a bit dull.

Blurb:
On the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me …This beautiful collection features twelve gorgeously romantic stories set during the festive period, by some of the most talented and exciting YA authors writing today. The stories are filled with the magic of first love and the magic of the holidays.

A Wrinkle in TimeA Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

This is the first audiobook that I’ve ever listened to, so it’s quite a strange experience for me. It’s taking quite awhile to get through, because I can only listen to it when I’m doing something that doesn’t require much thinking. It’s quite a nice story, though.

Blurb:
It was a dark and stormy night; Meg Murry, her small brother Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the arrival of a most disturbing stranger.

“Wild nights are my glory,” the unearthly stranger told them. “I just got caught in a downdraft and blown off course. Let me be on my way. Speaking of way, by the way, there is such a thing as a tesseract”.

Meg’s father had been experimenting with this fifth dimension of time travel when he mysteriously disappeared. Now the time has come for Meg, her friend Calvin, and Charles Wallace to rescue him. But can they outwit the forces of evil they will encounter on their heart-stopping journey through space?


Recently Finished…

Ready Player OneReady Player One by Ernest Cline

I loved this book! I wasn’t too sure how much I would like it, as I’m not a gamer, but I still really enjoyed it. I’ll be posting a full review tomorrow (hopefully…), so keep and eye out for that!

Blurb:
In the year 2044, reality is an ugly place. The only time teenage Wade Watts really feels alive is when he’s jacked into the virtual utopia known as the  OASIS. Wade’s devoted his life to studying the puzzles hidden within this world’s digital confines, puzzles that are based on their creator’s obsession with the pop culture of decades past and that promise massive power and fortune to whoever can unlock them. When Wade stumbles upon the first clue, he finds himself beset by players willing to kill to take this ultimate prize. The race is on, and if Wade’s going to survive, he’ll have to win—and confront the real world he’s always been so desperate to escape.


Reading Next…

The Fox InheritanceThe Fox Inheritance by Mary E. Pearson

This is the second book in the Jenna Fox Chronicles. I also have the third book out from the library, so they’ll be my next reads.

Blurb:
Once there were three. Three friends who loved each other—Jenna, Locke, and Kara. And after a terrible accident destroyed their bodies, their three minds were kept alive, spinning in a digital netherworld. Even in that disembodied nightmare, they were still together. At least at first. When Jenna disappeared, Locke and Kara had to go on without her. Decades passed, and then centuries.

Two-hundred-and-sixty years later, they have been released at last. Given new, perfect bodies, Locke and Kara awaken to a world they know nothing about, where everyone they once knew and loved is long dead.

Everyone except Jenna Fox.


Have you read any of these books, and what have you been reading? Let me know in the comments!

 

3 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday #13

Leave a Reply

