Books I Will Definitely Read This Year

So, I mentioned in my New Year’s post that I will get around to making a post about books I want to read this year when I got home Aussie. Well, here it is!


There are a lot of sequels coming out this year for popular books, so I’m hoping to get to these books before the next one comes out.

Red QueenAn Ember in the AshesA Darker Shade final for IreneThe Wrath and the DawnSix of CrowsThe Young Elites

 

Snow Like Ashes

Illuminae

 

 

 

 

 


Red Queen
by Victoria Aveyard
 (Book 2 coming February 9th 2016)
An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir (Book 2 coming August 30th 2016)
A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab (Book 2 coming February 23rd 2016)
The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh (Book 2 coming May 3rd 2016)
Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (Book 2 coming September 22nd 2016)
The Young Elites by Marie Lu  
(Book 3 coming 2016)
Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch 
(Book 3 coming 2016)
Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
(Book 2 coming Fall 2016)


There are quite a few movie adaptations of books being released this year, some which I am yet to read. Hopefully I’ll get to these ones before the film comes out!

The 5th WaveA Monster CallsMiss Peregrine's

 

 

 


The 5th Wave
by Rick Yancey (now showing in NZ)
A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (initial release October 14th 2016)
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs (initial release December 25th 2016)


Then there are those stand-alone books that everyone has been talking about, but I still haven’t read yet.

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens AgendaAll the Light We Cannot SeeEverything, EverythingAll The Bright PlacesI'll Give You the SunMy Heart and Other Black HolesExtraordinary Means

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon
All the Bright Places by Jennider Niven
I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga
Extraordinary Means
by Robyn Schneider


Of course, there’s also these sequels…

UnboundLady Midnightacomaftog3

 

 

 


Unbound (Unwind Dystology) 
by Neal Shusterman (technically, it’s a short story collection, though still set after the main series)
Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare (also not technically a sequel, but it’s a sequel series to TMI and TID – coming March 8th 2016)
A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) by Sarah J. Maas (coming May 3rd 2016)
Throne of Glass #5 by Sarah J. Maas (coming September 6th 2016)


That’s just a fraction of the books on my TBR >.< However, these are the books that I’m vowing to definitely read this year.
How many of these books have you read, and how many are you determined to read this year?

12 thoughts on “Books I Will Definitely Read This Year

  1. bookloverbabbles January 17, 2016 / 2:40 PM

    HAVE FUN READING THEM!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. theorangutanlibrarian January 17, 2016 / 4:55 PM

    Fantastic post! I loved Red Queen and Young Elites- I’m sure you will too 🙂 and A Darker shade of Magic and Everything, Everything are great too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. MyBookJacket January 17, 2016 / 7:51 PM

    There are so many books on this list that I haven’t read! A monster calls, Miss Peregrine’s home and Extraordinary means are first on my list. So excited for A Darker Shade 2. I actually enjoyed book one, which surprised me. I hope you like it too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A Stranger's Guide to Novels January 18, 2016 / 1:59 AM

    Great post! I love how you split everything up. I need to catch up on reading loads of books! Everything Everything and All The Bright Places are both solid contemporaries , I hope you enjoy them!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. alilovesbooks January 18, 2016 / 5:41 AM

    Your list is scarily similar to mine. I have however read A Darker Shade of Magic and Six of Crows and would definitely recommend. Hope you enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wat da Book January 18, 2016 / 7:04 AM

    Thank you for this list! I’m definitely taking inspiration from it! Here’s to a 2016 filled with books! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Brown Books and Green tea January 18, 2016 / 12:50 PM

    This list has so many books that I need to read as well, especially Illuminae and The 5th Wave. I always say I’ll read the book before seeing the movie, and I’m trying to do that with 5th Wave.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. T.K. Lawrence January 19, 2016 / 10:08 AM

    Many of those books on my TBR as well. I’m exceptionally excited about “A Torch Against the Night,” ToG 6, and “Lady Midnight.” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment